background image
Government  Planning, Permitting, and Code  

Director of Planning & Development

Eric Cousens

 

The Planning & Development Department (formerly the Planning and Permitting Department) is charged with protecting and improving the community's environment, infrastructure and economy through the establishment of land use policies and ordinances, and enforcement of certain public health and safety codes. The Department administers land use, building, housing, plumbing and electrical codes and provides for the maintenance of streetlights and traffic signals.

WE WANT DEVELOPMENT! Staff in Planning & Development recognize the value of new development and the need to grow our economy. We also recognize the need to create a predictable environment for residents and investors to feel comfortable living and doing business in Auburn. Auburn has a long history of planning including our first Comprehensive Plan in 1919. Maintaining and improving the quality of life in Auburn through planning, zoning infrastructure, accomodating all modes of transportation, recreational opportunities, protection of residential neighborhoods, code compliance and creating economic opportunities are all high priorities. We strive to provide helpful, friendly service to all of our customers every day. We are a Maine Certified Business Friendly Community.  For larger projects, Auburn also has State Delegated Review Authority for traffic, stormwater and Site Location of Development to provide a streamlined one-stop development permitting experience. Give us a call about development opportunities in Auburn.

On the permitting and compliance front, we aim to keep the City safe, clean and help people complete their projects on time and in compliance with State codes and local ordinances as code compliance facilitators and whenever possible, not code enforcers.To help us improve, please keep an open line of communication with the Department, tell us about your experience, including ways for us to improve. We want Auburn to be on the top of the list when people are looking to locate their home or business in the great State of Maine.

 

Eric Cousens

Deputy Director of Planning & Development

Phone: 207.333.6601 ext. 1154 
Email:  ecousens@auburnmaine.gov
Address:  60 Court Street, Auburn, Maine 04210
 
 

 Hours:  Monday thru Friday, 8:00am to 4:30pm

 

Support Staff 

Katelyn Doustout

Information Assistant

207.333.6601 ext. 1133
kdoustout@auburnmaine.gov
 

Rhonda Russell

Administrative Assistant

207.333.6601 ext. 1158
rrussell@auburnmaine.gov

 

Douglas Greene, A.I.C.P.

City Planner

207.333.6601 ext. 1156
dgreene@auburnmaine.gov

 

Cristy Bourget

Sanitarian/CEO

207.333.6601 ext. 1162
cbourget@auburnmaine.gov
 

Charlie DeAngelis

City Electrician

207.333.6601 ext. 1152
cdeangelis@auburnmaine.gov
 

Mike Soucy

Electrician

207.333.6601 ext. 1153
msoucy@auburnmaine.gov
 

Mark Stambach

CEO/Building Inspector/LPI

207.333.6601 ext. 1160
mstambach@auburnmaine.gov 
 

Zack Lenhert

CEO/Assessing & Planning Assistant

207.333.6601 ext. 1150
zlenhert@auburnmaine.gov