Established in 1869, Auburn is Maine’s fifth largest city with a population of 23,055. Auburn is rich in history and maintains its traditional values while continuing to move forward. Etched on the walls of Auburn Hall is our city motto, “Vestigia Nulla Retrorsum” which translates to “No Backward Steps”.

Auburn was the first City in Maine - the second in New England - to adopt the Council-Manager form of government. Our municipal government has a seven-member City Council comprised of five councilors elected to represent one of the five districts in Auburn and two at-large councilors elected city-wide. The Mayor is also elected by a majority of voters city-wide.  Both the Mayor and Councilors serve a two-year terms.

Citizen involvement is a valuable component of Auburn city  government. Volunteers are always welcomed. Auburn is a city that is truly “…a government of the people, by the people, for the people…”.


Auburn Hall is open Monday through Friday, 8:00am to 4:30pm